BTEC - Higher National Certificate in Business

Accredited by Pearson Education UK, the new BTEC Higher National qualifications in Business are designed to address an increasing need for high quality professional and technical education pathways at Levels 4 and 5, thereby providing students with a clear line of sight to employment or to progression to a degree at Level 6.

The Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Business offers students a broad introduction to the subject area via a mandatory core of learning, while allowing for the acquisition of skills and experience through the selection of optional units across a range of occupational sectors at Level 4. This effectively builds underpinning core skills while preparing the student for subject specialisation at Level 5. Students will gain a wide range of sector knowledge tied to practical skills gained in research, selfstudy, directed study and workplace scenarios.


  • Globally recognized qualification
  • Equivalent to 1st year of a UK Honours Degree
  • Experienced Lecturer Panel
  • Flexible Payment Plans
  • No Exams – only assignments
  • Be competitive in the job market
  • Friendly and supportive learning environment

Programme Structure

  • BTEC Higher Nationals consists of Core units, Special units and Optional units.
  • Core and Special units are mandatory.
  • Special units are designed to provide a specific occupational focus to the qualifications and are aligned to Professional Body standards.
  • All units are usually 15 credits in value, or multiple thereof.

Pearson BTEC Level 4 - Higher National Certificate in Business

HNC is a level 04 qualification made up of 120 credits. This is made-up of 08 units, each with a value of 15 credits. It is usually studied in full – time over one year, or part time two years.

Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Business Unit Credit Level
Core Unit Unit 01: Business and the Business Environment 15 4
Core Unit Unit 02: Marketing Essentials 15 4
Core Unit Unit 03: Human Resource Management 15 4
Core Unit Unit 04: Management and Operations 15 4
Core Unit Unit 05: Management Accounting 15 4
Core Unit Unit 06: Managing a Successful Business Project Pearson-set) 15 4
Elective Unit Unit 09: Entrepreneurship & Small Business Management 15 4
Elective Unit Unit 10: Financial Accounting 15 4

Programme Awards

Awarding Institution

Pearson Education Ltd

Qualification Titles

Pearson BTEC Level 4-Higher National Certificate in Business

Qualifications are awarded following the decision of the Assessment Board held by ACBT and the Verification of the Pearson External Verifiers.

Conditions for the Award

To achieve a Pearson BTEC HNC qualification a student must have:

  • Completed units equivalent to 120 credits at level 4;
  • Achieved at least a pass in 105 credits at level 4;

Programme Entry Requirements and Admissions

BTEC –HNC & HND Programme

  • Min. of 2 passes at GCE Advanced Level or
  • A BTEC Level 3 Qualification or equivalent any other - related Level 3 Qualifications
  • An access to Higher Education Certificate awarded - by an approved further education institute or
  • NVQ Level 4 certificate or Foundation Programme
  • A recognized Diploma of 4 – 8 months duration or
  • Related work experience