BTEC - Higher National Certificate in Computing

The new BTEC Higher National qualifications in Computing are designed to address an increasing need for high quality professional and technical education pathways at Levels 4 and 5, thereby providing students with a clear line of sight to employment or to progression to a degree at Level 6. The purpose of Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals in Computing is to develop students as professional, self-reflecting individuals able to meet the demands of employers in the computing sector and adapt to a constantly changing world. The qualifications aim to widen access to higher education and enhance the career prospects of those who undertake them.


  • Globally recognized qualification
  • Equivalent to 1st year of a UK Honours Degree
  • Experienced Lecturer Panel
  • Flexible Payment Plans
  • No Exams – only assignments
  • Be competitive in the job market
  • Friendly and supportive learning environment

Programme Structure

  • BTEC Higher Nationals consists of Core units, Special units and Optional units.
  • Core and Special units are mandatory.
  • Special units are designed to provide a specific occupational focus to the qualifications and are aligned to Professional Body standards.
  • All units are usually 15 credits in value, or multiple thereof.

Pearson BTEC Level 4 - Higher National Certificate in Computing

HNC is a level 04 qualification made up of 120 credits. This is made-up of 08 units, each with a value of 15 credits. It is usually studied over a period of one year as a full-time programme or two years as a part-time programme.

Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Computing Unit Credit Level
Core Unit Unit 01: Programming 15 4
Core Unit Unit 02: Networking 15 4
Core Unit Unit 03: Professional Practice 15 4
Core Unit Unit 04: Database Design & Development 15 4
Core Unit Unit 05: Security 15 4
Core Unit Unit 06: Managing a Successful Computing Project (Pearson–set) 15 4
Elective Unit Unit 07: Strategic Information Systems 15 4
Elective Unit Unit 10: Website Design & Development 15 4

Programme Awards

Awarding Institution

Pearson Education Ltd

Qualification Titles

Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Computing

Qualifications are awarded following the decision of the Assessment Board held by ACBT and the Verification of the Pearson External Verifiers.

Conditions for the Award

To achieve a Pearson BTEC HNC qualification a student must have:

  • Completed units equivalent to 120 credits at level 4;
  • Achieved at least a pass in 105 credits at level 4;

Programme Entry Requirements and Admissions

BTEC –HNC & HND Programme

  • Min. of 2 passes at GCE Advanced Level or
  • A BTEC Level 3 Qualification or equivalent any other - related Level 3 Qualifications
  • An access to Higher Education Certificate awarded - by an approved further education institute or
  • NVQ Level 4 certificate or Foundation Programme
  • A recognized Diploma of 4 – 8 months duration or
  • Related work experience